Glendale AFC vs Old Crocks

September 24, 2017
Score: 3 - 0

Match Report

The annual Old Crock’s game took place on Sunday with the “Young Bucks”emerging victorious once again although they were pushed all the way by the Crock’s. A superb turn out from both teams meant that there was plenty of much needed subs for both sides and the crock’s started with a trialist in goal and a back four of Aitken,McCubbin,Paterson and Innes. Much was expected of Oag in mid field with Hay and Mullen along side him and Wright playing in a world of his own! Up front Fearn was handed the responsibility of leading the attack along side D Summers.

The Crock’s suffered a massive blow in the 1st minute when Neil McCubbin was injured in a challenge forcing the inspirational defender to depart to be replaced by Llyod. The Bucks almost went ahead in 5 minutes when a thunderous drive from Calum Robertson crashed back off the cross bar. Eventually the Crock’s managed to find their 2nd wind and settled down to enjoy some play in the opponents half and Oag threatened to break clear only to shoot wildly over the much to the amusement of his former teammates. Abercrombie and Noble replaced Fearn and Summers as the Crock’s continued to impress then Brechin and Tyrie, with a combined age of 119 replaced Innes and Aitken and still the young Bucks could not find a way to unlock the Crock’s defence and with Duncan[Doog], Kennedy [Chiel] and G Anderson [Gobler] now also on to play their part the Crock’s were delighted to get half time still well in the game. H.T 0-0

The 2nd half saw Walker take over in goal for the Crock’s but there was massive controversy within 5 minutes when the Buck’s were awarded a penalty. Referee Mr S Reid had a “Willie Collum” moment when Michael Thomson fell over his own feet and to everyone’s amazement the ref pointed to the spot! It’s fair to say if the same incident had happened in the other box it would have been classed as a “stonewaller” but to award such a decision against the Crock’s was outrages and left some of his family members feeling totally embarrassed however once the furore died down ALEX McMAHON scored from the spot kick. From then on the the the Young Bucks began to find away through and CHRIS SMITH then RUSSEL MACPHEE added another 2 goals but Walker showed his class with a outstanding triple save while Neil Innes also cleared spectacularly off the line. The day was rounded off when Craig McRae left Neil Innes on his arse as he turned him inside out.

The victory to the current side again but the plaudits to the Old Crock’s for a valiant effort and it’s days like this that set Glendale apart.

Man of the match for the current side was Alex McMahon, who for a player from the current era was given a bottle of lucozade and a banana while for the Crock’s Alan Aitken pipped Colin Patterson for the award and fittingly for a player from the 80’s/90’s won a packet of fags and 4 cans of beer.

After the match Glendale announced their awards for 2015/16.

James McMahon won top scorer [24] and Young Player of the year.

Neil Innes was awarded the “Robert Mitchell Clubman of the Year” by the Committee.

And for the 1st time in Glendale’s history the “Charlie Summers Player of the Year Trophy” was shared between Ryan McRae and Graeme Oag.


Michael Thomson
Alex McMahonGoal
Calum Robertson
Craig McRae
Danny Lechner
Russell MacpheeGoal
Chris SmithGoal
Callum Sutherland
Connor Pirie
Cameron Wright
Ally Black
Cameron Willox
Ross Yule
1. Derek McKenzie