Glendale AFC vs Turriff Thistle

August 20, 2016
Score: 1 - 2

Match Report


Glendale crashed out of the Stephen Shield at the 2nd round stage after going down 1-2 to visitors Turriff Thistle at Maryculter on Saturday. Having reached the final last season Dale were hoping to go one better this year and started in determined fashion but found Turriff  a tough nut to crack whose defence played a high line constantly catching the Dale forwards offside however in 12 minutes Danny Lechner found himself clean through on goal but his shot lacked conviction allowing Easton to smother. Glendale were finding ways to get behind the visitors defence but too often their crosses found no takers. Turriff grew in confidence and served a warning in the 30th minute when Paton fired in a 20 yarder which crashed back off the post with Muirhead beaten. Moments later Neil Innes was too casual in defence allowing Forbes to rob him but fortunately for Dale he only chipped his effort into Muirhead’s arms. Turriff  took the lead however through route one football,A long kick out by Easton was flicked on by Smith and SLESSOR fired a shot across Muirhead to give the visitors the lead. H.T 0-1.

The 2nd half saw Turriff content to sit back and absorb any pressure that came their way and on the hour mark broke free out of defence and with the Dale defence appealing in vain for offside FORBES  ran through and beat the badly exposed Muirhead with ease. Glendale continued to battle on and with Oag and Will on had more pace in attack and in 75 minutes Innes crossed for MARK ROBB to score from close range it was game on again. Robb came close to forcing extra time but his effort went the wrong side of the upright but on the day Glendale just came up short.

Team                                         Muirhead

Pirie                        Innes                             A McMahon              Wright

R McRae              Brown               MacPhee                 Sutherland

Robb                   Lechner




C McRae

J McMahon


Neil Innes
Russell Macphee
Stuart Muirhead
Alex McMahonYellow Card
Mark RobbGoal
Danny Lechner


Andy Will
Craig McRae