Glendale AFC vs Don Athletic

February 20, 2016
Score: 3 - 2

Match Report

Glendale secured their place in the final of the Stephen Sheild with a hard earned victory over Don Athletic at Inverdee on Saturday.
For Don Athletic this was their first game since 19th of December but they started in determined fashion as they pinned Dale back early on and Stuart Muirhead had to get down smart to save a net bound shot,However Glendale soon settled and Callum Stewart brought out a fine save from Athletic’s keeper then set up Graeme Oag who should have done better than screw his shot wide. In 15 minutes Don Athletic had the ball in the net but fortunately for Glendale the Linesman kept his flag up and the “goal” was disallowed for offside. Dale continued to have the better of the opening half but were stunned on the half hour when Athletic took the lead when their striker was on hand to fire home a loose ball. Just before the break Glendale equalised when from a corner Mark Robb’s header was cleared off the line but JONNY REITH followed up to drive the ball through a ruck of players into the net. HT.1-1
The second half was only 5 minutes old when Dale went ahead for the 1st time when Stuart Hay fluffed a corner but the ball fell kindly for DARREN BUCHAN who fired high into the net from 15 yards however within 3 minutes Athletic were level when Hay was adjudged to have fouled his opponent in the box and the resulting penalty was duly dispatched. With the game evenly poised Glendale went ahead for a 2nd time when a mistake from the Don Athletic Sweeper allowed MARK ROBB a free run at goal and he kept a cool head to slot past the advancing keeper. Athletic were reduced to 10 men near the end but never gave up pushing forward but Dale held on to book their place in the final where they will meet either Bervie Caley or Nicoll’s X1.
Best for Dale on a day of no failures were Scott Farmer, Michael Thomson, Graeme Oag and Man of the Match Callum Stewart.


Michael Thomson
Alex McMahon
Stuart Hay
Callum Stewart
Graeme Oag
Neil Innes
Jonny ReithGoal
Mark RobbGoal
Darren BuchanGoal
Stuart Muirhead


Simon Darwin
Richard Fearn
Danny Lechner